top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

An author terrified to write

Updated: Jan 13, 2022

Hello, Lovely Soul Drop!


How have you been? Happy New Year! My last post was on September. If I love writing so much…why do I spend so little time writing? I could come up with various excuses. I lack time, I lack inspiration, or maybe I’m just not good enough. Actually? I do have time, I have thousands of ideas, and even if I’m not really good enough I’m not getting any better by avoiding writing. So what’s really going on?


Easy.


I’m afraid.





I’m terrified of writing. I squeezed the fun out of it when I started judging every single word instead of redacting as I did when I was a child. I started creating stories when I was four, and writing when I was nine. It was so much fun!! I used to bring to life interesting worlds I wished to be in! I loved my characters, and I enjoyed my own words.


Then why am I frightened now? Was I discouraged? Just the contrary! My teachers and peers told me I was a genius of redaction. I read my short stories in class, and got claps in return. I won contests, and adults would shower me with praise if they read any of it. I was never afraid of sharing my work with others. Until now.


I have become more critical of my own writing, which it isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it is restraining my creative process. My ego is getting on the way. When I was a kid, I didn’t care what anyone else thought of my creations. I wanted to have fun, and that was it! Today? I want everyone to love what I write while I hate each new sentence.



My blog was born because I wanted to share my thoughts with all of you! If my writing isn’t changing the world somehow then I feel like it’s worthless. Do I think that of other people’s work? Of course not! I read to have fun. Easy as that. Yes, I do love reading to learn, to grow, and to change my life for the better. However, not every book I adore or every blog entrance that made me smile was a life changing experience.


We get better by doing, not by thinking of doing. If I want to become a best seller…I need something to sell and put out there. If I want my creative skills to resemble my dreams, I need practice! The more I write, the better I will be. Maybe you won’t fall in love with my every work, still I’m sharing my ramblings with you.


Fear is something we all experience. I had let it control me. That’s human. You know what is another human thing to do? Try again. Keep moving. Learn, and grow. Here’s another blog entrance. Is it perfect? No. Is it art? Not really. However, it is the best I could do tonight. For now, that’s good enough.


Thank you so much for reading!! Here are the two latest podcast episodes.

With all my love,


Belle Moon.




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page