top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

Be happy, be a cat!

Samuel is a kind loving young man very liked by everyone. He’s loved by his family, friends, and colleagues due to his warm friendly nature. Anyone would think he is the happiest guy in town but...the truth is, he is usually stressed and anxious! Poor Sam tends to overthink and complicate his own life by accident.


One day he was sitting in one of the corners of the apartment he lives in. Head down, hands covering his face and tears are drying up on his cheeks.


-“What’s wrong, Sam?”-


Following these words, his scream could be heard in the whole building. You see, Samuel lives alone with Alice. And Alice couldn’t possibly be talking, could she?




-“A…Alice?”-he looked at his fluffy roommate.


-“Yes, you know it’s me”-she replied curling her grey tail around her white paws.


-“But how is it that you’re talking?”-


-“I always have, what’s peculiar is that you seem to understand me now. Very well, I’ll ask again. What’s wrong?”-


-“I…I’m not really happy as I should be. I mean, I have food, friends, a job, an apartment a loving family. I could be really happy! But I’m not”-


Alice stretched herself and arched her flexible back before starting to lick her paws.


-“I don’t understand why you don’t want to be happy, you humans are super complicated!”-she commented blinking slowly her glistening yellow eyes.


-“Is not that I don’t want to! I don’t really know why I’m not happy”-he sighed resting his head against the wall.


-“Easy! You have to become a cat! We are always happy”-


-“Huh? I don’t understand…”-


-“Well, follow me”-she walked and then jumped on the back of the sofa where she could look out the window-“You humans are always rushing around! And you don’t bring any mice in your jaws when you come back so I really don’t get it. I know running around is fun but do you ever just sit down and stare at the window? It’s so relaxing!”-


-“I don’t think you understand how our lives work”-


-“How could I? If you really want to be happy you should sleep more, you rarely sleep at night and when you do you move around and almost crush me to death! When we sleep we don’t think, we just sleep. Whoever heard of a cat meowing in their sleep?”-


-“Well…I guess I could think less before sleeping but how?”-


-“Let me tell you our little secret. Us cats make life easy! We’re hungry? We eat, we need to rest? We sleep a lot! Do we want to be caressed or get attention? We ask for it and if we don’t we’ll set our boundaries so you know we don’t want to be touched. Most importantly, we live in the moment. I know you have to think ahead and plan your future but do you have to always live a week ahead? You’ll never get to experience today and enjoy its little pleasures! You know like taking a nap, eating a mouse or getting someone to scratch under your chin! Talking about that, could you do it?”-she asked lifting her head.



Sam started to scratch her causing her to purr loudly; as he listened he decided his cat was right. Maybe to be happy, he needed to be more like a cat.


21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page