top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

How to let them down

Hello, lovely Soul Drop!

Yesterday I didn’t post anything, this was 100% intentional. Not posting anything was truly hard for my perfectionist mind, I tend to have unrealistic expectations of what I can do and I strive to perform as best as I’m able to.


The truth? I don’t want to let anyone down. I want to meet my own expectations and don’t want to feel like I let someone down. That maybe they needed me and I wasn’t there, maybe they need help and I didn’t offer it, maybe they needed a smile…I don’t know but I tend to think I should always be there for others.

Although this sounds like a good thing, it’s not when you’re actually chained to your ego and the fear of people abandoning you just because you didn’t deliver. This should never be the motivation behind helping others. I want to change this approach to helping others, something I’m inevitably passionate about.



What can you do to let them down?


First, why would you want to let anyone down? Well, it’s quite simple. Just imagine all of that pressure you feel it’s because you’re literally carrying that person on your shoulders so you feel heavy…let them down, allow them back onto the ground because you don’t have to carry them when they have their own two feet. Maybe there will be times when you need to carry someone who is injured but NEVER forever, you’ll eventually burn out.


So how do you let them down compassionately?


1. Remember you’re human. You’re not a perfect being who can do it all without blinking an eye, you’re human so you have your limitations and your flaws…and that’s perfectly okay.

2. Most of the times the consequences won’t be as bad as you think. I’m that person who tends to have catastrophic thinking so if I make a mistake I feel like it’s the end of the world. In reality? Things never turn as bad as I thought they would! People don’t abandon you for recognizing your limitations; if they do they are seriously not worth your time.

3. Resting doesn’t mean you have given up. Nobody would yell at someone who sleeps at night, right? Does it mean that person gave up? No, they just need rest before they continue. You haven’t given up; you just need time to gain back your strength.


Hopefully having these three things in mind you’ll be able to allow yourself to let people down from your shoulders and start walking freely as you deserve. I know it’s hard, let’s do it together! Let's let them down, let down our fears, let down our walls and just be free.


Thank you for reading!

With much love, Bel.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page