top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

Monster of the breathing cave

This is the Inktober Challenge story #3! (legend, wild, ornament, misfit, sling, tread and treasure) Hope you enjoy!


 

-"Legends tell about a hidden treasure hidden within this very forest. Wild beasts protect it and no one has ever been able to find it...or return alive from the hunt"-


Those were the words of that old hag, they ring in my ears almost deafening me. I remember how I listened and stirred the ice of my half finished Singapore sling. I wish I had known I would come back from that impossible quest, I wish I had known I would survive that living hell.


I sigh and stand up slowly. I avoid hitting my head against the dangling ornament I bought when I came back, maybe out of pity and probably out of desperation. To say I'm a misfit is clearly an understatement. I run the three fingers of the only hand I have left through my now white hair. What I saw in that forest snowed it entirely.

Memories of the gory tread left behind pound into my head, I'm still able to tread with my leg and the fake one I was given. But no one could give me a fake soul, one to replace the one I lost that day. To the monster of the breathing cave.



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page