top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

Worth living among humans (Short story)

Updated: Jan 27, 2023

Hello, Lovely Soul Drop! How are you feeling?


I wanted to write a short story for a while, and finally, inspiration struck. Also, I want to write here Tuesdays and Fridays to have a set schedule. Let’s see if I manage! Hope you enjoy the story!


 


The tears blur my vision, but the horrors before me are still quite visible to me. I can’t believe this happened again. Lyssa’s gentle lilac eyes gaze into mine full of compassion. She takes my hand and we walk away leaving the burnt bodies behind. Back at home she prepares tea and wraps a blanket around me. These human items make me happier than I wish to admit.


-“Little flame, I know how awful you feel right now…but”-


-“I won’t be interacting with humans ever again”-I cut my partner off. When we chose to leave the otherworld to live among humans I was excited to learn from them. I never imagined my power could be so damaging to them. Their terrified screams and the image of their flesh melting off haunt me daily.


Lyssa opens her mouth to say something but sighs and walks away. She can hang around them because she handles her power perfectly, and she is also extremely kind and patient. Maybe that’s why she loves me still.


She continues to work in the flower shop, but she’s slowly getting away from her human friends. That’s not what I want. I know she loves hanging out with them. The pain of watching her slowly isolate herself from the world she fell in love with starts to morph into bitterness within my soul.

...

- “Sweetie! I’m home! Ani? Anima!!”-I hear her yell as she runs towards me. My head is spinning, the flames around me dizzying me even more.


-“Hey there, Ly…”-my voice comes out strangled.


-“What happened?! You have burns all over your body…”-


-“I’m so sorry”-


-“Ani…I’m worried about you. This isn’t natural, your flames are not supposed to harm you”-


-“Why don’t you leave me? Thanks to me you’re not enjoying the company of your human friends and you look so sad lately…I’m so sorry”-


-“Anima, I love humans but I love you more. I know you don’t like them as much so I tried to get away from them to spend more time with you”-the kind smile on her dark-night blue lips breaks my heart a little further.


-“No! That’s not what I wanted! I like them…I’m just terrified of hurting them again. I wanted to keep living with them and you happily, but I can’t handle massacring them…I’m too dangerous”-my voice breaks as the flashbacks of their agony come back to bite me.


-“Honey, don’t you see? Isolating yourself here is hurting you…and it’s also hurting me. I hate to see you this sad. Let’s work on your powers, shall we? I’m sure we can find a way for you to hang around them safely”-she pulls me into a tight embrace.


-“Thank you, I love you so much”-


-“I love you too”-

Lyssa laughs as she dances with our friends. Mark plays guitar and his sister, Riley, plays the flute. The knocking on the door pulls me back into reality.


-“Hello? It’s the police!!”-


-“The police?”-Barbara and the rest of us exchange confused glances. We all walk to the door and let the officers inside.


-“We’re sorry to interrupt but we are answering a call of disturbances?”-


-“What?! We’re just playing music!”-Mark snaps and Riley holds his arm.


-“Uh…you want to join us, officers?”-Lyssa smiles brightly trying her best to calm down the ambiance.


-“Thank you, but we have to decline. Please turn down the music”-the female officer tells us and leaves with her partner.


-“How dare them?! I’m sure it was the annoying neighbor you have”-Mark protests and starts to walk to the door. Phillip, Sarah, and Barbara follow him expressing their agreement. Lyssa, Peter, and Riley are trying to hold them back.


I should stay inside…it’s been two years since that horrible time, and I don’t want to push my luck. The yelling of the humans can be heard probably by the whole neighborhood. Ly?


-“Lyssa?!”-


When I come out, Lyssa is holding her cheek. I entirely ignore the fight that ensues between the humans to hold my partner.


-“I’m all right! Remember they aren’t strong”-she looks at me scared of what I might do. I feel the flames coming out of my palms, but I turn them off as I take a deep breath.


-“Let the police handle it…humans love creating unnecessary issues, but it’s not my place to fix them. You’re all right…and that’s what matters”-I look at their struggle with each other before going back inside.


-“Woah…I’m proud of you, honey! So, did training work?”-she refers to the sparring matches we have in deserts so we may use our powers to the fullest.


-“Those are helpful, but as usual, humans taught me a valuable lesson. I don’t need to put out my flames…I can redirect them to something else. Each time frustration, sadness, or anger get to me I try to write a poem about it, I’m not good, but it helps. I’m also picking up painting! Their art is not only beautiful, but it’s also a way of releasing pent-up energy without you know…killing a whole village or destroying an ecosystem”-I look for my latest painting and show my partner. Her lilac eyes widen and begin to sparkle with joy.


-“Can you teach me? I love it!”-


I smile as Lyssa picks up the paint ready to marvel at another human invention. They can be annoying, but they are also worth interacting with.




I hope you enjoyed this short story! Here are some podcast episodes you could also enjoy:




Here is my Instagram page if you want to see a drawing of Anima and Lyssa: https://instagram.com/bellemoon99art?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=



With much love,

Belle Moon


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page