top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

My Mrs. Hyde

Updated: Aug 28, 2021

Hello, Lovely Soul Drop! How are you? I just finished reading Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde for the second time. While I write I'm listening to an interview done by Dr. Michelle Ward to a killer. I was going to write about how to write poems, but this had to be the topic for today's blog-post.


We all have our very own Mr. Hyde, our dark side, and a horrific instinctual self hidden deep down. This is in no way me trying to scare you, rather than remind myself being a human is also being an animal. When animals kill we see it as natural, yet when we kill each other or do something similar then we're evil monsters. The thing is, both are driven by instinct.



As humans we should be able to control our instincts, our obscure desires, so we can live in a society without hurting anyone else. However, some humans are literally unable to do this. Drugs, hits to the head, cognitive chemical imbalances, abuse, and even coping mechanisms can turn us into these so called "monsters". We condemn killers, we condemn rapists, thieves, and all sorts of people we clearly see as bad. I definitely think they should pay! Their actions are never justified. Nevertheless, I do understand them.


I have stopped seeing bad people as less than I am, I don't agree with them or justify them...but I see them compassionately. Most think I'm crazy, that I have probably never met truly evil people and that's why I think like that. The thing is, I have met them, but I have also investigated why and how they got to where they are. Don't get me wrong, I do get angry at them, I feel they are awful, but I also remember if I had been in their shoes...that might have been me.




Some brains are damaged due to many different facts, and that's why they commit horrendous acts. That could be my brain, that could be your brain, or the brain of someone we love. We're all capable of atrocities, we're all able to be Mr. Hyde...because pure raw instinct and desires end up in dark destinations.


What's the point of all of this? Well, if anyone can turn into a monster...then those who end up like one are not that different from us. Not deep down. We become different when we decide to discipline ourselves to be the best we can be, control our impulses, and take care of our health. Some don't have a choice, some are born with neurological problems, but most of us do have a choice!


I have borderline personality disorder, many end up being killers...but not me. Never. Why? Because I received treatment, I received help, and I understood I was way more than my personality disorder. I choose to be kind, I choose to be compassionate, I choose to do good. (Important fact: most borderline people are more dangerous to their own selves than to other people. Yet, we're all connected so if you hurt yourself you can hurt others).


Let's make that choice. Let's learn to meditate, to heal our wounds, to have good health, to transcend the inner monster. We'll always be highly intelligent animals, never angels, never deities...just simple humans.


That's all for today!! These are the podcast episodes:




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page