top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

The stairs

Hello, Lovely Soul Drop! I missed writing short stories and sharing them with you, so I decided to write one for today’s post.




I love nights like these, just relaxing with my boyfriend as we read a book and drink tea. His orange-like scent fills the room, and I can feel his chest rise and lower against my side. His brown skin acquired a golden glow thanks to the night lamp by his side; I play with one of his stubborn curls and let out a satisfied sigh.


-“Am I more interesting than your book?”-he chuckles, tracing my freckled cheeks with his thumb.

-“You know you’re the most interesting thing in my life”-

-“What else could you expect from the most handsome dude in the seven continents, Sebastián Escaleras?”-He jokes, dropping his book on my face.


-“Oh gods, baby, did I hurt you?”-


-“I’m OK”-


Now we’re both laughing at each other like idiots. This is what I love about him, we can have deep conversations that last hours, or we can just joke all afternoon.


-“Aaaah!!”-


What was that? Seb looks at me between amused and worried.


-“Hey, tiger, relax. That was just a thunder”-


I let out a nervous laugh. Of course, it’s just a storm. I pick my book back up. Where was I? Ah, right, the girl gets the guy. This book is filled with so many tropes I can’t count them…


-“Honey?”-

-“Yeah?”-

-“You’re shaking”-


I look up to find my beloved’s deep blue eyes fixed on me. I want to protest, I truly do…but I can’t ignore my hands are indeed trembling.


-“Want a snack?”-I set the book aside with a dry thud. Seb follows me into the kitchen and holds my hand.


-“Logan, you’re not anxious-eating your way out of this. What’s wrong, babe? Talk to me!”-

-“It’s cute when you pout like that, you know?”-

-“Logan Ray Hunt Fisher, what’s going on?”-

-“Full naming me now, huh? Well…I think I heard someone scream a while ago”-

-“You mean, besides you?”-


I roll my eyes and take out my jar of cookies. If he’s not going to take me seriously, that’s it for today. I hear him sigh and then feel his arms hug my waist tenderly. Come on, stay strong! Ugh, who am I kidding? He’s making his kitten face, isn’t he? Yup, that’s the one.


-“Yes, besides me…I keep hearing someone scream. At random points, it’s a long wail coming from…from downstairs”-


-“I can check it out with you if you want. I know you don’t like it down there”-


Tap. Tap. Tap. It’s that annoying sound again! Not tonight. I don’t want to deal with this right now.


-“Let’s just continue reading, or maybe we could watch that movie?”-

The storm is getting louder, the raindrops smashing themselves against the windows. It’s so freaking cold!


-“Come on, boo, are you sure you don’t want to go downstairs with me?”-Seb pleads, trying to pull me towards them. I shake my head and rush to the couch. Cuddled in his arms, I allow myself to forget time once more. Tap. Tap. Tap. It’s sure raining cats and dogs out there, probably elephants too. After a while, I go to the bathroom. As I walk by, I sense that I saw something. Thin fingers come out of the darkness and signal the stairs. I’m sure that was just a branch on the window!


The phone rings and makes me jump. Oh, I thought our line was cut off? Wait, where is the phone? Ah, right. Near our bedroom. I walk in the dark, I don’t mind. Tap. Tap. Tap.


-“Hello?”-


Silence. Another prank call, I’m sure. Seb must be wondering what happened to me. I should go back. Tap. Tap. Tap. Ugh! That annoying sound! It’s driving me insane! Where is it coming from? It has to be somewhere around here. I start exploring the rooms looking for the damn source. I don’t know how long it has been, but I can’t seem to find it. Tap. Tap. Tap. Louder, every single time. I turn around and gasp, finding Seb standing in front of me.


-“So, you finally decided to come down. Are you ready, my love?”-

-“What? No…I didn’t”-


No. No. No. I turn around, finding the stairs towering over me, like a building about to crumble. My heart beats inside my mouth as I reluctantly look down. His gorgeous blue eyes now two empty voids staring into me. His mouth is wide open, and there’s a drop falling by his feet. Tap. Tap. Tap. This isn’t real, right? It can’t be.


I start to scream and drop to my knees as I stare into his decomposing body. His neck is bent at an unnatural angle. What happened to my angel?


-“Seb? What’s this?”-


-“I fell down the stairs, you don’t remember, do you? We were fighting, you pushed me. It was an accident, we both know it was. You haven’t let go of me, so I continue to linger and act like I’m alive…you’re the one keeping us here. Please, please, let us go”-


-“NO! NO! You’re not dead! You’re not!!”-I start to wheeze and reach for something.


I open my eyes, and look at Seb. I’m in his arms as he reads something. He looks down at me and smiles. Why does he look so sad?


-“Do you remember?”-


-“What? Oh, I did have such a strange dream! I can’t quite remember now”-

He sighs heavily and continues to read. He must be tired from work, my sweet angel. I wish he didn’t spend so much time at work though…tap. Tap. Tap. I wonder, is there a leak somewhere?


THE END


I hope you liked it! Here's the latest episodes:


Let's Connect Monday: https://anchor.fm/bellemoon99/episodes/Lets-Connect-Monday-32---What-keeps-you-going-em7qou


Let's Connect Monday: https://anchor.fm/bellemoon99/episodes/Lets-Connect-Monday-33---Clean-it-up-emi24m


Let's Be Kind Thursday: https://anchor.fm/bellemoon99/episodes/Lets-be-Kind-Thursday-31---Lets-go-emch3i


Let's Be Kind Thursday: https://anchor.fm/bellemoon99/episodes/Lets-be-Kind-Thursday-32---Im-stronger-than-I-know-emn2il

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page