top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

Thank you, October!

Hello, Lovely Soul Drop!


October is almost over, and I’m sort of sad it must come to an end (like everything that ever begins). This month has been filled with writing challenges, like the #vssmurder, and art challenges like #Inktober! We allowed our creativity to flow and let ourselves go! Besides the spooky themes, I love that we are reminded of the magic of our world. There’s so much we can’t even begin to understand! So many mysteries! I’m enamored with all that.


Social media these days are filled with black cats, witches, moon pictures, and pumpkins. As a Wicca, those things are not only part of my life during October. Why do people love Halloween so much? Maybe it’s the candy! Or the horror films we can enjoy! Maybe, we fall in love with this celebration because spooky, weird, and crazy are suddenly cool things. During these days, we are allowed to: show our demons, display our fears and shadows, and we can laugh at the face of fear.



Isn’t that just wonderful? The original meaning of Samhain was to chase away demons to prepare for winter. Even though we’re not at risk of dying during winter like our ancestors were, we’re still preparing for something important. The end of the year is upon us. 2020 is a horror film turned into reality for many of us! However, I think I learned a lot, and I’m grateful for how much I grew thanks to this quarantine.


We were forced to face our deepest fears: to be alone and death. As we

grow old, we stop fearing the monsters inside our closets and under our beds, and we start worrying about other things. Our nightmares are filled with us feeling like we failed, being alone, and dying. Those are our most primal fears, the horror of meaningless lives, the dread of facing the unknown, and having to do so on our own.


This Halloween, let’s embrace that darkness within us! Let’s embrace all of our inner monsters, because we all have them. It’s time to smile at them, to truly look at those parts of ourselves with love and kindness, as hard as that might be. Once we accept ourselves as both light and darkness, we truly grow. Instead of dressing up, we can strip our souls bare. What’s scarier than that? To be vulnerable.




I remember that when I was a little kid, I wasn’t afraid of the bloody masks or the spooky costumes I encountered on Halloween. I smiled, they fascinated me! Now, I understand that I became afraid once I started fearing the darkness of this world. You know? Today I’m that little girl dressed up in a vampire costume walking around with a smile. I know I have darkness within, I know the world can be cruel, I know pain, sadness, and death can’t be avoided…and I’m OK with it.


Thank you, October!


Podcast episodes of last week:



19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page