top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

The farewell

Here goes the Inktober Challenge story #2! (frail, swing, pattern, snow, dragon, ash and overgrown)

 

As I stare at the worn and torn wallpaper I reflect upon the hardships of breaking old patterns. My tired eyes wander off and find themselves gazing at the overgrown garden, the weeds are conquering the terrain and the lonely flowers have almost disappeared entirely.


Isn't this incredibly sad?


The memories left lingering in this place are frail, just like my broken heart. My feet reluctantly guide me to the front door. Hate like a flaming dragon destroyed this place, leaving nothing but ashes. Ash, ash is what we become. Nothing else.


I keep waiting for them to come back. To listen to their laughter, to teach them again how to properly swing to the music, to tuck them in...but they won't come back. They won't ever play again in the snow, they will never ask me for a cup of hot chocolate or even a hug.


I slowly step out of the abandoned building. Their tiny corpses are buried below, way under the bloodied soil and covered in the falling snow. Their screams still echo within the broken down walls, or maybe just within my broken soul.


-"I should have been there, I should have stopped this madness...but now it's too late. Overgrown by demons and shadows, this quiet den has become a living hell. I guess I just came here to say goodbye, to beg for forgiveness once again. Tomorrow both you, old home, and I will be gone...gone like ashes carried by the wind"-I speak slowly, savoring the bitter taste of the truth as I turn around and leave.


Maybe it's just my imagination, or maybe it's my broken heart, but I swear I listened to their thin voices chanting a farewell.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page