top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

The gift of beauty

Hello, Lovely Soul Drop! How are you feeling?


I’ve been thinking a lot about beauty. Here is why it matters so much to me, and we should see it as important as a society.


According to the VIA Survey on Authentic Happiness, one of my top strengths is the appreciation of beauty. I don’t pay attention to people’s looks unless it’s to see whether I would like to photograph them or draw them. Drawing, painting, dancing, singing, playing piano, taking a photograph, and writing are my tools to bring beautiful things to life. Everywhere I go, I will find something that I consider beautiful and will make me smile. Sometimes they will be physical things such as a cat or a building, but I also find beauty in acts of kindness, love, and honest goodwill. Thanks to this I'm able to withstand the constant pain, stay positive, and always find a reason to smile.




I believe that sometimes we forget beauty is not only a pleasure, it’s needed. Artists are often seen as less useful than other professionals because we make the mistake of brushing beauty aside as an extra. Why do we decorate our homes? Why do we stare at sunsets mesmerized? How do you feel when you look at something gorgeous? Beauty makes us happy, it helps us endure harsh times, and it improves our mental well-being.


When I talk about artists I refer to anyone who creates any form of art. People who can see the beauty in pain, tragedy, nostalgia, and even in the darkness. Some of the most beautiful songs were inspired by grief, and some of my favorite poems and movies depict sad scenes. There is truly beauty in everything that moves our souls. Kind souls also bring beauty to this world, and we should appreciate both types of artists more. Those who create beauty that can be perceived by our senses and those who create the beauty we feel in our spirits.


I always say that anyone can be beautiful, but not everyone can be healthy or good. Some have physical attractiveness yet hold hideous minds full of hatred. Other people are not conventionally beautiful, but still, they bring beauty with their kindness or personality. We can also have ugly things in our lives cohabitating with beautiful ones. Mental illness is ugly, obesity is ugly, anorexia is ugly, and still, someone unhealthy can bring beauty or find beauty in positive things in their lives. My chronic illness and personality disorder are horrible, but the relationships I’ve gained because of them are beautiful.


Life can be extremely difficult to handle sometimes. Beauty makes it easier. We should all appreciate the gifts beauty gives us! Appreciate people who create beauty, and learn how to find it everywhere around us. A beautiful life is a wonderful life.


Thank you so much for reading!


Here is an amazing video with extra information about the effect beauty has on humans:


The latest Podcast episodes:




With much love,

Belle Moon



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page