top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

Program error

The day goes by as usual. Programmed smiles, synchronized clocks, neon lights against a dark grey sky.


I'm...uncomfortable? Something's not right. They check my gears but everything is fine. What's this pain? I want to scream. I want to run away.


What am I doing?! As if my feet had a life of their own I run through the empty streets. I walk past smiling faces who don't even bother turning my way. My reflection on a rain puddle feels so bizarre...who is that looking up at me?


I've been lying to myself. I knew the programming was failing. I was laughing when I wasn't supposed to and my smile faltered when I was meant to smile bright. This isn't right. I'm not right.


Tall grey buildings tower over me as my feet continue to take me in this desperate race. I ended up on the highest hill in our city. I look down at the maze of grey, white, and black. The blue and pink neon lights blind me as I try to look at people's masks.


What's this? My finger comes to my cheek and instead of metal, I feel something warm and soft. I'm out of air. Everything hurts badly.


-"It's...it's you again!"-I turn around finding that maskless girl. Her gorgeous black eyes are two bottomless oceans asking me to dive right in.


-"Your mask is falling off"-

-"I don't want it off! I don't want this...I don't want pain. I don't want it!"-


Her sad smile makes her look even more beautiful. She looks up at the clouds and shuts her big eyes.


-"I know it hurts, but it also feels great. This way you can actually feel the rain falling on your face"-


My eyes meet the dark clouds. So...this is how rain feels? The drops run down my face. I'm smiling without programmation...I just feel like smiling.


-"Welcome to being free"-



 

Hello, Lovely Soul Drop! Today I decided to listen to Synthetic Reality by Antonio Sapene and write whatever came to mind. This is the link to the song so you can enjoy it too:


https://youtu.be/jw-x3881d6c


Thank you so much for reading!

Belle Moon.


Podcast episodes:


Let's Connect Monday: https://anchor.fm/bellemoon99/episodes/Lets-Connect-Monday-86--How-to-love-Mondays-e1ijkfh


Let's be Kind Thursday: https://anchor.fm/bellemoon99/episodes/Lets-be-Kind-Thursday-80--Next-step-e1ie831


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page