top of page
  • Writer's pictureBel

The fortune teller

Updated: Jan 22, 2021

Linda Conley is a 23 years old fortune teller working at the Cirque des Rêves Blancs. Her delicate hands flip the Tarot cards as her pink lips smile gently, her gentle gaze is kind and compassionate. Her only wish is to help people, make them smile if she can.


Many lonely souls wander in and out of her tent every single day. Doctors, business people, merchants, teachers, all kinds of them.


Today she reads the palm of a divorced woman. Her tender voice guides this broken heart back to a place of peace. The relieved woman hugs her with tearful eyes before exiting the tent through the curtain of beeds.


-"Hello, Linda"-


Surprised, she looks up at the entrance of her tent. A handsome man is standing there wearing a warm smile on his lips. She has no idea who he is, but something about him makes her feel safe.


-"Uh, hello? Do I know you?"-

-"Sort of, you have seen me around. My name is Neil Blackwell"-he offers her a hand. She shakes his hand still a bit confused.

-"What can I do for you? Do you want a reading?"-

-"That would be impossible"-

-"Huh? How so?"-

-"Try reading my hand"-

Considering it an odd request but at the same time trusting this man, she takes a hold of his hand. Her expression turns from puzzled to dumbfounded.


-"How...? I can't read anything!"-she exclaims flabbergasted.

-"Foorsooth the reading is impossible"-

-"Who are you? Why are you here?"-

-"I'm here to deliver a message, dear. May I sit?"-


She nods with her eyes glued to his. Neil sits down calmly and smiles candidly. He takes her cards and puts them aside, along with the rest of her tools.


-"Linda, when was the last time you did a reading for yourself ?"-

-"I... can't remember. Right now is not the time! With the ongoing war...there is a lot of people who need my guidance"-she quickly deffends herself.

-"Is that so? Wouldn't this be the perfect moment? You're acting as a pillar for all of these aching souls...what would happen if that pillar breaks? You need to stay strong, but that's as impossible as reading my hand if you don't take care of yourself"-his voice is sweet, gentle, compassionate.

-"Are you a soothsayer?"-she whispers.

-"I'm a friend, that's all"-he replies happily.

-"What should I do...?"-

-"Take care of yourself, take a break. Your energy can heal only if you're healed yourself. Have a laugh, dance a little, remember why you love this place so much"-he comments with a smile before standing up.

-"You're leaving?"-

-"I have things to do, remember your promise"-

-"What promise...?"-

-"You'll remember as soon as you come back to your true self. See you around! "-he tells her while walking away.

She would never see him again, but she did remember her promise. Have you forgotten yours?


Hello, Lovely Soul Drop ! I hope you liked this short story.





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page